Holy Thursday Vantages: Judas

Thirty pieces of silver…

Thirty… thirty… thirty.

Thirty.

Ten percent of what I could’ve had for that whore’s perfume. Expletives.

Thirty.

Synagogue. Hard bargain, and I don’t like their mocking.

But it’s near time he gets his a little. All these miracles, always seen, always noticed, glory, glory, glory.

Thirty.

Passover. How many times have I been passed over?

Messiah. Christ. Who do you say that I am? 

Raising Lazarus, whore, Hosanna, hosanna. KING!!!

Expletives.

Oh Peter. You fool. What a dastard fool. Wash your whole body. Extreme, don’t you think?

Thirty, thirty…

They could give me more. I will ask them for more. I’ll insist. They have it, I know it. I’ll just insist.

Clean, but not all of you…

Not all of me, like Peter… only feet.

Thirty, th…

Breathe. In, then out, in then out. Low profile. Distance yourself from his touch. There you are, there you are. Steady. Foot in, and washing. More water over the foot means less sensation

In the beginning, God created…

You must love the Lord your God, your God, who do you say that I am? You are the Christ…

A man had two sons, and the younger one asked for his inheritance…

Younger one, thirty, thirty, thirty… in and out. Just breathe…

Prodigal living…

Don’t look at me, don’t look at me, don’t look at me…

I have cast out your sins for my own sake and I will remember them no more…

Ten coins, one was lost…

Lost…

Thirty coins, thirty pieces of silver, thirty…

One is ten percent of ten, and thirty ten percent of three hundred. The whore, washing his feet…

He’s washing my feet…

I wish he’d stop. Steady, steady, breathe in and then out…

Ninety-nine sheep. I left them, Judas, to find the one…

The one. Which one, Judas? Which… one?

Pharisees. I’ll insist on more…

Ten percent… of the whore’s perfume. One lost…

Oh, his eyes. Does he know? He couldn’t know, he couldn’t know…

Even my bosom friend in whom I trusted, who ate of my bread…

Which friend, Judas?

Trusted, trusted, who ate of my bread…

has lifted the heel against me…

Heel… smite him on his heel…

Trusted… Can I do this? Can I really? Thirty? 

Which one, Judas? Which son? Which coin?

And what did I do? I searched, I waited… I will wait…

Which lamb?

Lamb to the slaughter, sheep…

And the son returned home to the Father…

Fatted calf…

Thirty…

You never gave my friends and I a calf to celebrate with…

Come home, Judas…

Thirty, thirty… thirty… thirty is enough.

Come home…

He is done…

My feet, he is finished…

It is finished.

{Find part 1 here}

{Find part 2 here}

{Find part 4 here}

Leave a comment